DIY Fireplace Re-Do

Anyone who knows me can tell you that I have a unique sense of style. I march to the beat of my own drum, and could care less about someone else’s opinion about it lol. I’m a creative person and I love to switch things up according to whatever mood I’m feeling at the moment. While this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, my need for frequent change gets Terrence to huffing and puffing on the regular.

My latest idea was to re-do our fireplace in the downstairs living room. We’ve owned our home for 5 years and it’s been a constant eye sore for me. One day I woke up with the idea to freshen it up. Surprisingly, Terrence didn’t need much convincing! My down stairs living space doubles as my office and the old fireplace didn’t mesh well with my office decor AT ALL….

I hopped on Pinterest for some inspiration and found some amazing ideas. While the inner eccentric in me wanted to go a little on the wilder side, I had to be reeled in with the home re-sale talk. We compromised on a look that was clean, textured and aesthetically pleasingly to the both of us.

I found some beautiful stone at one of my favorite places in the world, Lowes! I could shop there every day, I love to wood smell that welcomes you into the store. The stone that frames the fireplace it self is limestone. It has a subtle sparkle to it (Duh!) had to throw that in there. And the lower tiles are Carrara Marble. Just like paint color, picking out tile is difficult. Confession…I was watching an episode of Property Brothers not too long ago on HGTV and the female home owner kept raving about how she HAD to have Carrara Marble in her kitchen. She was super stylish might I add. This is what helped me land my decision on the Carrara lol. Easy peasy….

I really love how it turned out! I’ve had a few friends over since we completed it and they think it’s quite a show piece. We are in the process redecorating the mantle as well so I will update this post once we have it complete. We spent less than $200 on the materials and it took us a weekend to complete.

Leave a Reply

